We recently published Sarah R. Clayville’s powerful “Rendezvous.”

Here, we ask her two questions about her story:

1) This is such an aching description of an abusive relationship — yet I doubt Blake or Anne would describe it that way. I love the line “That she can’t forgive him when he’s never apologized.” Do you think Blake will ever apologize? Or do you think, as the next line hints, that Anne might learn how to leave?

I don’t think Blake can apologize because he’s so unaware of their unhealthy dynamic. Giving her the pennies at the end wasn’t so much an act of cruelty on his part as a reminder to Anne that he controls the rules and boundaries of what is and isn’t ok for them within their relationship. I have to believe that her wish on the grave is to learn to leave, although I also worry about her at the end because of the ramifications of standing up Blake.

2) I love the little details that Anne creates for the late Ezra O’Reilly! (Especially, as a bit of a Holmesian, the fact that he read every Sherlock Holmes book!) Would she be disappointed, do you think, if she ever knew the real Ezra O’Reilly?

First, I hope Anne finds her Ezra O’Reilly if she can escape her current situation. During the story, though, I do believe she would be disappointed. His appeal is that he isn’t real, that he can’t disappoint or hurt her. What could be safer than a man who lived decades ago? I also wanted her to find a kinship with him beyond just romantic infatuation. In her mind he’s been hurt, too. The two can commiserate in an entirely safe space. Her secrets and pain literally die with Ezra.